For Distribution to CPs

THE PRESS STANDARDS BOARD OF FINANCE LIMITED

Editors' Code of Practice Committee

CHAIRMAN: LES HINTON email: editorscode@fsmail.co.uk SECRETARY: IAN BEALES PO BOX 235 STONEHOUSE, GL10 3UF

Embargo: For release at 6-00pm, Tuesday 29 November 2005

PRESS INFORMATION

The Editors' Code of Practice Committee, which writes and revises the voluntary code of standards overseen by the Press Complaints Commission, is undertaking its annual review of the Code.

It would welcome suggestions from the public, civil society and the industry on how the Code might be revised to improve the system of self-regulation of the press, of which it is an essential component.

Suggestions should be sent as soon as possible, but no later than 12 January, 2006, to:

lan Beales, Code Committee Secretary, PO Box 235, Stonehouse, Glos GL10 3UF.

Or by email to: editorscode@fsmail.net

Note for Editors:

• The Editors' Code committee members are: Leslie Hinton, chairman; Perry Austin-Clarke, Bradford Telegraph and Argus; Neil Benson, Editorial Director of Trinity Mirror's regional newspapers; Mike Gilson, The News, Portsmouth; Douglas Melloy, Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo; Lindsay Nicholson, Good Housekeeping magazine; Paul Potts, Press Association; Alan Rusbridger, The Guardian; Derek Tucker, Press and Journal, Aberdeen; Neil Wallis, News of the World; Harriet Wilson, Conde Nast magazines; John Witherow, Sunday Times; and Peter Wright, The Mail On Sunday.