## For Distribution to CPs

## New lay member appointed to PCC

Sir Christopher Meyer, Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission, has announced the appointment of Esther Roberton to the PCC for a three year term. She replaces Adam Phillips, who has left the Commission following the expiry of his term of office. Ms Roberton, who is a director of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry, is a former Chair of the Scottish Further Education Funding Council and former Chair of NHS Fife. Welcoming her appointment, Sir Christopher said: "I am very pleased to welcome Esther to the board of the Commission. With her wide range of experience, she will bring an important new perspective to the Commission's deliberations. At the same time, it is with sadness that we say goodbye to Adam Phillips. We are most grateful to him for his contribution to the Commission over the past three years". Esther Roberton said: "As an impartial observer of the PCC for the last couple of years, I have been impressed with the how it has reached out to different communities around the UK, and how it has promoted its range of services – particularly those aimed at preventing or dispersing media scrums. I am now looking forward to making a contribution from within the Commission itself".

## **ENDS**

## **Notes**

- 1. Public, or 'lay', members of the Commission are appointed by an independent Appointments Commission, following public advertisement and interview. Members of the Appointments Commission are Sir Christopher Meyer (who chairs it); Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill; Sir David Clementi; Andrew Phillips and Tim Bowdler CBE.
- 2. There are seventeen members of the Commission. Ten members including the Chairman are lay Commissioners who have no connection to the industry, while seven are drawn from among the ranks of senior editors in the national and regional press, and from periodicals.
- 3. The Appointments Commission has also extended the terms of office of Bishop John Waine and Vivien Hepworth to July 31st 2008 and December 31st 2008 respectively.
- 4. For more information, contact Stephen Abell on 020 7831 0022.

16 August 2007