For Distribution to CPs

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION ***

Our reference: 07-3431

From the Chairman

Captain R Peaty (Retired) 8 Lunedale Road Dibden Purlien Southampton S045 4QP

3rd June 2008

Den Captain Peaty,

Thank you for your letter of 26th May.

I am afraid this has nothing to do with bulldogs, toothless or otherwise. Our remit is to regulate editorial content and the way news is gathered. I hope you will understand that this has nothing to do with the refund of posting and packaging costs associated with returned goods, advertised by a newspaper.

You may be interested to know that self-regulation of the press has already been considered at the political level and has been endorsed by the Government, the Conservative Party and the House of Commons Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport. This is because the PCC is far from being a "cosy, enclosed shop" as you allege. To the contrary, the Commission comprises a majority of publicly appointed Commissioners from all walks of life and a permanent staff who have never worked in the newspaper and magazine industry.

CHAIRMAN Sir Christopher Mever

MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION Matti Alderson Spencer Feeney Colleen Harris MVO Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Simon Invin Ian MacGregor Ian Nichol Lindsay Nicholson Esther Roberton Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Tina Weaver Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

DIRECTOR Tim Toulmin

Sir Christopher Meyer

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk

Christopher Neyer

