## For Distribution to CPs

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

From the Director

17 September 2007

Rt Hon the Lord Foulkes of Cumnock MSP Room MG 19 Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP

Û

Thank you for your letter of 30 August.

The regulation of online services is a difficult area, but one where the newspaper and magazine industry – prompted by the PCC – has gone further than other media to ensure that certain standards apply. It is of course difficult when comments are posted by non-journalists in un-moderated areas of websites. Some sites already apply the sort of system you recommend. Making that compulsory would be difficult, but there may be other ways to encourage good practice.

Perhaps we might have a word about it on Thursday at the dinner hosted by Christopher Meyer?

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin



Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk



Sir Christopher Meyer MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION Matti Alderson

CHAIRMAN

Matti Alderson Roger Alton Paul Dacre Spencer Feeney Colleen Harris MVO, FRSA Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Simon Irwin Ian Nichol Esther Roberton Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB DIRECTOR Tim Toulmin