## For Distribution to CPs

Soft to

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION \*\*\*

From the Director

445

Nick Bent Esq Special Advisor to Tessa Jowell Department for Culture, Media and Sport 2-4 Cockspur Street London SW1Y 5DH

24 April 2007

Ja M. Jul.

I thought you might like to see a copy of the Commission's annual report.

I hope the report conveys the range of work that the Commission undertakes, the scope of what it does on privacy which includes newsgathering as well as published information, and the flexibility and suitability of the remedies that it offers. The extension of the Commission's remit to include editorial audio-visual material was also a significant milestone — marking the first occasion on which the industry has voluntarily ceded further powers to the Commission without there being any external political or regulatory threat. This is undoubtedly a sign of confidence in the Commission.

I hope you enjoy reading the report.

With kind regards.

CHAIRMAN

Sir Christopher Meyer

MEMBERS OF THE

Matti Alderson Roger Alton Paul Dacre Spencer Feeney Colleen Harris MVO, FRSA Vivien Hepworth Peter Hill Simon Irwin Ian Nichol Adam Phillips Eve Salomon Dianne Thompson CBE Derek Tucker The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

DIRECTOR

Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

Tim Toulmin

Tim Toulmin

FISE SECONDARY OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD
T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk
Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123
www.pcc.org.uk