For Distribution to CPs



From the Chairman

6 July 2007

Don Foster Esq MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

Jean Jan,

It has been a time of some change for the PCC and the newspaper industry, and there are currently a number of challenges for media regulators posed by new technologies and convergence. We think that the PCC's structure and approach—flexibility, independence, the co-operation of the regulated industry, and the application of principles rather than prescriptive rules - are well suited to the new landscape.

It struck me that it has been a while since we met up. I would therefore welcome the opportunity to brief you on these and other issues, and also to hear your own views. I know you will be very busy but I wonder whether you — and any of your advisers or shadow ministerial colleagues, if appropriate — might be free some time in the autumn for a private dinner with me and the Commission's Director, Tim Toulmin. It would be excellent if someone from your office could be in touch with my PA, Kim Baxter, to sort out a suitable date. Her direct line is 020 7438 1242 and her e-mail address is kim.baxter@pcc.org.uk.

With kind regards.

gans est, Phistogh CHAIRMAN Sir Christopher Meye

MEMBERS OF THE
COMMISSION
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Paul Dacre
Spencer Feeney
Colleen Harris MVO, FRSA
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Simon Irwin
Ian Nichol
Adam Phillips
Eve Salomon
Dianne Thompson CBE
Derek Tucker
The Right Rev.
John Waine KCVO

DIRECTOR Tim Toulmi

Sir Christopher Meyer

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk

