## For Distribution to CPs

## **Press Complaints Commission**

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis CBE
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee
Adam Phillips
Eve Salomon
Dianne Thompson
The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

Rear Admiral Nick Wilkinson CB

Director Tim Toulmin

From the Chairman

24th January 2006

David King Esq Chief Executive The Samaritans The Supper Mill Kingston Road Ewell Surrey KT17 2AF

Dear Mr. King

Thank you for your letter of 13<sup>th</sup> January letting me know about the seminar that you are planning for July.

It would certainly be appropriate for either me or a senior colleague to attend the event. Perhaps you could be in touch with my office when you have a firm date so that we can get it in the diary as soon as possible.

But it might also be relevant if you invited the Secretary of the Editors' Code of Practice Committee. That is the body that writes the Code of Practice under which we take complaints. The committee has previously discussed whether or not to introduce special rules for the reporting of suicide, but so far has declined to do so. The PCC can only investigate complaints, and criticise newspapers, under the terms of the Code. The secretary is Ian Beales, and he can be reached at <a href="mailto:editorscode@fsmail.co.uk">editorscode@fsmail.co.uk</a>, or PO Box 235, Stonehouse, GL10 3UF.

Someone else who has an interest in this area is Ian Mayes, the Guardian's Readers' Editor, whose e-mail address is <u>reader@guardian.co.uk</u>.

I hope this is helpful.

With kind regards.

Jam L'neere ly Au: Stephen Meyer Sir Christopher Meyer

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355

Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264

e.mail: complaints@pcc.org.uk website: www.pcc.org.uk

