PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

0.8%

From the Chairman

-35.0

Barry McIlheney Esq Chief Executive The Periodical Publishers Association Queens House 29 Kingsway London WC2B 6JR

31st March 2010

I am writing to you following the recent publication of the report into press standards, privacy and libel by CMS Select Committee. The PCC has now published its response to this report, which I enclose for information.

As you may know, the report contains the following recommendation about journalists' contracts of employment: "the PCC should mandate the inclusion of a clause requiring respect for the Code in staff contracts of journalists of all subscribing publications".

In our response, we have made clear that we will be writing to the industry to encourage "universal take-up" of this practice. The Commission believes that contractual references to the Code strengthen the system of self-regulation and the effectiveness of the PCC's rulings. The Commission would like such references to be uniform across the industry.

On that basis, I would be very grateful if you could clarify with your members their policy on contractual references to the Code and make that information available to the Commission. We would then seek your assistance in securing commitments from the relevant companies to include such references in future.

As you know, the continued success of the Press Complaints Commission is very much in the interests of the industry as a whole. Your assistance in helping to strengthen it further would be most welcome.

Do please give me a call, if you would like to discuss this.

With kind regards.

Baroness Buscombe Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk CHAIRMAN Baroness Buscomb MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION Matti Alderson John Home Robertson Anthony Longder lan MacGregor John McLellan Ian Nichol Lindsay Nicholson Simon Reynolds Esther Roberton Eve Salomor Simon Sapper Julie Spence OBE QPM The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Professor Ian Walden Tina Weave Peter Wright DIRECTOR Stephen Abell

MOD100039631

PRESS COMPLAINTS COMMISSION

化酸红

(a, 132

From the Chairman

David Newell Esq Director Newspaper Society/NPA 8th Floor St Andrews House 18-20 St Andrew Street London EC4A 3AY

31st March 2010

I am writing to you following the recent publication of the report into press standards, privacy and libel by CMS Select Committee. The PCC has now published its response to this report, which I enclose for information.

As you may know, the report contains the following recommendation about journalists' contracts of employment: "the PCC should mandate the inclusion of a clause requiring respect for the Code in staff contracts of journalists of all subscribing publications".

In our response, we have made clear that we will be writing to the industry to encourage "universal take-up" of this practice. The Commission believes that contractual references to the Code strengthen the system of self-regulation and the effectiveness of the PCC's rulings. The Commission would like such references to be uniform across the industry.

On that basis, I would be very grateful if you could clarify with your members their policy on contractual references to the Code and make that information available to the Commission. We would then seek your assistance in securing commitments from the relevant companies to include such references in future.

As you know, the continued success of the Press Complaints Commission is very much in the interests of the industry as a whole. Your assistance in helping to strengthen it further would be most welcome.

Do please give me a call, if you would like to discuss this.

With kind regards.

Baroness Buscombe

Halton House, 20/23 Holborn, London EC1N 2JD T: 020 7831 0022 F: 020 7831 0025 E: complaints@pcc.org.uk Textphone for deaf or hard of hearing: 020 7831 0123 www.pcc.org.uk Baroness Busco MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION Matti Alderson John Home Robertso Anthony Longden lan MacGregor John McLellan lan Nichol Lindsay Nicholson Simon Revnolds Esther Roberton Eve Salomon Simon Sapper Julie Spence OBE QPM The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO Professor Ian Walden Tina Weave Peter Wright DIRECTOR Stephen Abell

CHAIRMAN

MOD100039632